January’s Sufficient Path – Health & Fitness

image

“Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own” – 1 Corinthians 6:19 NIV

God spoke to me about this verse a few years ago.  I admit that I had picked up some bad habits in college, namely by eating junk and avoiding exercise as much as possible.  Actually, exercise avoidance can be traced back through all of school.  (I purposely tried to walk the mile as slow as possible every year in gym.)

So the morning that I sat praying and reading the Bible when God definitively told me that my body was His temple, His dwelling place on earth, and that I was essentially having Him dwell in a shotgun shack, I sat stunned in silence for several minutes.  I had never heard, never thought of such a thing.  But there it was in black & white on the page of my Bible.

I am not my own.

That this verse went beyond the spiritual was news to me.  Growing up Baptist (no offense to any Baptists out there), it seemed that overeating was a way of life.  Who can pass up the long tables to potluck casseroles and fried chicken half the Sundays of the year.  So, I began praying out what God meant by this revelation.

Namely, that we are to take care of these temples.  That we only get one on this earth, and it’s His dwelling place.  His Sukkah.  His tabernacle.  And if you read what kind of tent He had the Israelites make for Him, you’ll understand why His new dwelling place, your body, has more importance than you might think.

So, to start off this year, I am starting a series on Sufficient Health that will go through the month of January.  I’ll cover topics of diet and exercise as well as spiritual aspects of living as temples of God.

Leave a Reply

