Becoming a Proverbs 31 Woman

 source

This week, I have been pondering the next verse in the Proverbs 31 passage.  It says:

She seeks out wool and flax and works with willing hands [to develop it].  Proverbs 31:13 AMP

This seems so matter-of-fact.  It seems to refer simply to her household duties, and her diligence to her position as homemaker.  But on the other hand, especially reading the entire passage, you begin to wonder if you could ever live up to this ideal.  I can spin wool.  I use drop spindles, but it can take a long time and has always gotten a bit tedious after a while (which is why I am still trying to spin up for 3 years the only roving I’ve bought).  But I don’t think the true meaning lies in only this surface reading.  For now, I am going to continue to ponder this verse and possibly look some of the Hebrew.  What are your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

