Becoming a Proverbs 31 Woman

source

This week I have been pondering the next 2 verses in this section of scripture.

The heart of her husband trusts in her confidently and relies on and believes in her securely, so that he has no lack of [honest] gain or need of [dishonest] spoil.  She comforts, encourages, and does him only good as long as there is life within her.  Proverbs 31:11-12 AMP

I have to admit that these were encouraging and a gentle rebuke at the same time.  I know my husband trusts me and that for the most part I seek only his good while comforting and encouraging him.  But 4-5 years ago my husband discovered that within me lies a shopaholic monster.  It’s not a pretty site.  I remember one of my problems was Dollar Tree, because I could get so much for so little that I would just go bonkers and wreck our budget.  He said I had a Dollar Tree devil it was so bad.

And in that section of scripture, the heart of her husband trusts in her confidently and relies on and believes in her securely, so that he has no lack of [honest] gain or need of [dishonest] spoil, that opened my eyes.  It was like I had known his trust, but taken it for granted.  I know he trusts in my completely because he loves me, but I hadn’t been demonstrating behavior to warrant this trust.  Suddenly I see living frugally and resourcefully as a way to “do him only good” and keep him from dishonest things to provide for me.  Through this I have become a tad less selfish in my thoughts.  Sure I still want a Starbucks, and I still want yarn and clothes.  But suddenly I realize that I’m not being deprived, but I’m doing him good.

Leave a Reply

