The Simple Joys of Christmas: The Nutcracker Suite

I realized something the other day that was missing from my Christmas season.  Beauty and ballet.  Toe shoes and tulle.  And Tchaikovsky.  I grew up with ballet, and tried my best at actually dancing.  And every year came the opportunity to watch a production of The Nutcracker.  I was always captivated by the story, full of wonder and magic and mystery.  It brings a smile to my face when I hear a part of the music.  It’s the remembrance of happy childhood days when you believed it was possible for a nutcracker to become a prince and whisk you away to an island of candy.

My favorite parts – The Waltz of the Flowers and the Arabian Coffee dance.  It’s the music and how Tchaikovsky captured so much emotion in those pieces.  The choreography is also really captivating.

It also prompted my desire to collect nutcrackers.  I have a large one I named Richard III that I treasured as a little girl much like Clara treasured hers.  Maybe I hoped one day he would turn into a prince.  I think my hopes became reality with my husband.  What about you?  Has the Nutcracker become a part of your Christmas experience?

Leave a Reply

