Monday Musing

So I am still pondering my priorities this week, and also wondering about my own discipline.  It really seemed to finally make sense this week.  All my life I had heard the word discipline used to describe punishment children receive to keep them from behaving badly.  But I realized that disciplining yourself or your children means teaching them self-control and discipline in their life.  I want to see myself in a disciplined routine and then to be able to pass that on to my children.

The hardest part is of course building that discipline.  Most of us are used to doing what we want, when we want.  That is the typical American lifestyle and can be seen in the ever expanding credit card debt and waistlines of a lot of Americans.  But I think Proverbs says it best.

The fear of the LORD  is the beginning of knowledge, but fools despise wisdom and discipline.  Proverbs 1:7 NIV

I think I can safely say I’ve been a fool in this respect.  I love wisdom, but have despised discipline in my life.  But I am planning to change that.  For the next 21 days, I’m planning to build discipline in recording every purchase we make.  I would like to keep better track of our money, and where it is going.  What about you?  How do you feel about discipline in your life and would you be willing to develop it more in one area of your life?  If so, join us.

I am following the 21 Days to a More Disciplined Life series at Money Saving Mom.

One thought on “Monday Musing

Leave a Reply

