Monday Musing

It’s time for Monday Musing once again on One Twisted Skein.  My brain still lingers on the simple life.  Some days it seems illusive, like a very pleasant dream that you wake up from.  You have a faint idea of what it was about, and the happy feeling, but the details are fuzzy.  I think it is very hard to have both feet in these two separate worlds, simple & busy.  If you wanted to be simple, it would be best to grow your own food, and take care of what you can yourself.  But working 40 hours a week means you don’t have time to be simple.

There are 168 hours in a week.  Sunday through Saturday.  Your full time job consists of 24% of that time.  Almost one quarter of every week will be spent working a job for money to buy things you could easily produce yourself.  We’ve traded that time from making the things ourselves to having other people making them, and having to pay them for it.  It seems a bit backward to me.  Almost like we have willingly given up our freedom for the luxury of ease.

Now I know not everyone can sew, or knit, or cook.  But you can learn.  I hear all the time, when I’m stalked while knitting, “I wish I had time for that.  But I just don’t.”  Why not?  If we weren’t overworking ourselves in jobs we don’t like, we would have time to learn.

I don’t know.  Maybe I’m crazy.  OK, those of you who know me, don’t answer that.  But there has to be a way to get off this Merry-Go-Round of Doom.  So I’ll keep contemplating this.  Keep thinking through the problem, so that I can hopefully get to a solution.

Leave a Reply

