A new year of gardening

So, I started some seeds last Sunday.  Cherry tomato, cucumber, and lettuce.  I already have a ton of seedlings.  As in the warmest day this next week, I’ll probably need to transplant them to bigger pots.  I’m hoping to stagger my crops so I have a continuous harvest through late summer to fall.  I will also have to look in how to preserve my crops at the end of the season, since I plan on having a super abundance.  It may seem crazy but I’ve actually been quoting scripture over my seeds and garden.  There are a lot of scriptures in the Bible where God promises to multiply crops and the fruit of the land of those who worship Him.  The fact that most of my seedlings sprouted in 3-5 days rather than the 7-10 on the packet seems to be proof that these promises most definitely are true.  In mid-April, I plan to have my grandfather bring his bigger tiller and till my garden up.  I did a soil test last weekend as well, and found that my pH is about 6.0 and that there is good phosphorus and nitrogen in the soil.  It may be a little low on the potash but I’m really not sure what I can do to correct that.  It’s been raining a lot this year so the soil should be softer.  This is going to be an awesome garden.  The plants that I haven’t started early as they don’t require it are peas, spinach, onions, hopefully garlic, and a section for herbs for cooking and medicinal purposes.  Hopefully I can actually get seeds for the herbs I want.  I’ve discovered some local garden expos and plan on going to those to look for good deals.  I can’t wait for the warmer weather and get this garden started.

Leave a Reply

