Monday Musing

OK, I wanted to make it a triple threat and have Monday Morning Musing, but it just didn’t happen.  A new addition to my blog, I’m going to try and bring some sort of reflection or observation every Monday from the week before.  Something that has impacted me or otherwise changed my life.

This week’s observation:  As I sit and think about the previous week, I think I’m most impacted by time.  Or rather my impression of it.  So a week is only 7 days and that is actually not much in the way of what I hope will be a 100+ year lifetime.  But I feel that on the one hand last Monday was forever ago.  Some how so much stuff has filled the time from last week to this to make me feel that I’ve lived a month in that time.  Church takes up a lot of time.  Currently I sing on one of the praise teams, which looks like it is moving to a practice every week of some sort, every other Wednesday night, and every other Sunday morning.  I also help on the Evangelism team which may be 3 Friday nights a month.  Including last Friday.  And we also had our monthly Sunday night service yesterday.  That’s a total of 5 events just dealing with that.  And I love going to church but I feel it may slowly be sucking any spare time from me.  Not a good feeling.  In some ways, I’ve had to put down my needles for a week, with maybe only 30 minutes total of knitting!  Thats a lot.  Especially considering my self-employment aspirations, and my craft show ambitions, I really REALLY need to be knitting.  Like a fiend.  But I find myself so worn out, so exhausted, that I can barely lift a TV remote to adjust the volume, much less pick up my sticks for a worthy cause.  And I don’t know how to deal with this busyness that just seems like busyness and not something worth spending my time on.  I can’t quit my job.  Not yet.  And I will not give up God, but I have to draw the line between what is my relationship with God and important to that, and what is simply things I enjoy doing or what not.  Thankfully, my singing on the praise team does not determine my place in Heaven or His love for me.  I guess I feel it does determine the love from others though.  Meanwhile, I feel time speed by, and still yet drag slowly on, and wonder where in the middle do I accomplish what I need to accomplish.

One thought on “Monday Musing

  1. I completely understand what you mean. I have the same problem of not knowing where my time goes, although I don’t have as much scheduled during the week as you do. It’s very frustrating.

    I agree that you need more knitting time. And I may be wrong, but I don’t think God wants you to devote so much of your time to church activities that it becomes a drag, because then you’re not doing it out of love but just out of a sense of obligation or commitment or something else. I find that we can be just as near to God when we are quietly working our crafts as we are when we go to a place of worship.

    I hope you do find a time balance that works for you. It’s really hard to do that.

Leave a Reply

